No Excuses

Album Cover.jpg

This is my debut album, which features an up to 13 piece ensemble consisting of the Quintet (sax/recorder, guitar, piano, bass, drums) with added second guitar, string quartet and brass trio (flugelhorn, french horn and trombone). The music on this album represents me as composer, arranger, player and improviser. My influences come from a wide range of musical sources including; jazz, folk (English and otherwise), 60s rock/pop, early 20th century tonal classical and a plethora of other smaller influences that can be heard in some of the tunes.

The album was recorded at Session Corner Studios in Luton by the excellent Nick Pugh in March and May 2017 and is on 33 Jazz Records

The album launch on Jan 2nd 2018 at The Vortex, London was sold out and was a fantastic evening featuring the full 13 piece “No Excuses” band. This was followed by a successful small nationwide tour.

The Album is available to purchase physically and digitally online, and is on streaming platforms such as Spotify etc.
You can buy it from, Amazon, itunes or from myself.

Quotes from reviews:

“The album is an assembly of talented musicians taking us through an array of moods with the energy and unboundedness of youth” (Thomas Earl –

“The slicing, modernist string arrangements are a particular highlight” (Thomas Rees – Jazzwise Magazine)

“If you get a chance just go and see this band: their repertoire is rich in textures, complexity and virtuoso performances -you won’t be disappointed” (John Morrow – Riff Magazine)

“His debut album is a fantastic showcase of the versatility of his writing, ability and imagination” (Grace Scott Deuchar – Recorder Magazine)

I’m extremely lucky to have been joined on this album by an incredible cast of musicians, all who have flourishing careers in their own right and are amongst the best in their respective fields.

The band line-up is:

Tom Ridout – Saxophones and Recorders

Rob Luft – Guitars

Will Barry – Piano and Rhodes

Flo Moore – Electric Basses

Phelan Burgoyne – Drums

Billy Marrows – Guitar

Anastasia Stahlmann – Lead Violin

Didier Osindero – 2nd Violin

Anita Kurowska – Viola

Cecilia Bignall – ‘Cello

Alexandra Ridout – Flugel and Trumpet

Anna Drysdale – French Horn

Elliot Pooley – Trombone